Size 9.5 Heels

I am in search of size nine and a half heels,
For a job I’ve had since I was only sixteen.
I need to fill the position well,
and I can’t do that in my worn out ballerina flats from hell.

I am in search of heels less than six inches,
to match my new found desire to wear powder and lipstick.
I have skipped ages sixteen to thirty-one,
and now wear ponytails and high top buns.

I am in search of heels jet black to muddy brown,
to match the creases that surround my inner frown
when I try to remember fun summer times,
and realize I’ve had none except the occasional Saturday night lime.

I am in search of size nine and a half heels,
to assert respect and dominance in an office
when I do not fit in,
in a life which is only just beginning.

 

 

Leave a Reply

