When Will You Remember

When will you remember?
When I am old and grey,
When the sun no longer shines on my face,
Then will you remember me?

When my youth is drained,
When my dreams and aspirations no longer yearn to get off a page,
Then will you remember me?

When my life is over,
When I no longer seek to be remembered,
When my memory escaped me,
Then will you remember me?

When there is nothing left to remember,
When there is nothing left to know,
When there is no hope no guiding light in sight,
Then will you remember me?

When will you remember?
When I have said all I have to say?
When I can no longer cry for my tears were lost in my youthful days?
Or
When I become something?
When I make my name?
Then will you remember me?
When it is already too late?

Leave a Reply

