Hair Chronicles #1: Curly and Free

Some rights reserved by cássio abreu

Honestly I’ve gotten so tired
of the comments
of the advice
of the non-needed opinions.

It’s mine,
not yours.
This is how my hair grows
out of my head, wild,
curly and free.

My ancestors did not travel in shackles,
get beaten with whips,
for you to suggest the white woman’s beauty tips.
The creamy crack I shall use no more,
to myself, I shall be true hence forth.

My hair is wild,
curly and free,
the way I like it,
just the way it should be.

Leave a Reply

